Modern Experimental Particle Physics FYST17/EXTP35

2013 spring term (VT13) schedule

Date

Time

Location

Subject

Lecturer

Mon, 2013-01-21

14:15

H530

Introductory meeting, sign-up

O. Smirnova

Fri, 2013-01-25

15:15

H530

1 - Basic concepts, leptons, quarks, and hadrons

O. Smirnova

Mon, 2013-01-28

15:15

H530

2 - Experimental methods - accelerators

O. Smirnova

Wed, 2013-01-30

15:15

H530

3 - Experimental methods - detectors

O. Smirnova

Fri, 2013-02-01

15:15

H530

4 - Space-time symmetries

O. Smirnova

Mon, 2013-02-04

15:15

H530

5 - Charge conjugation and parity, CP violation

O. Smirnova

Wed, 2013-02-06

15:15

H530

6 - The quark model: hadron quantum numbers, resonances

O. Smirnova

Fri, 2013-02-08

15:15

H530

7 - Quark states and colours
Leave in home assignments 1-4

O. Smirnova

Mon, 2013-02-11

15:15

H530

8 - QCD, jets, and gluons

V. Hedberg

Wed, 2013-02-13

15:15

H530

Problems: 1-4

A. Floderus

Fri, 2013-02-15

15:15

H530

9 - Weak interactions, W+-, and Z0
Leave in home assignments 5-7

V. Hedberg

Mon, 2013-02-18

15:15

H530

10 - Electroweak unification

V. Hedberg

Wed, 2013-02-20

15:15

H530

11 - Neutrino physics

V. Hedberg

Fri, 2013-02-22

15:15

H530

12 - Beyond the Standard Model

V. Hedberg

Mon, 2013-02-25

15:15

H530

Problems: 5-7

A. Viazlo

Wed, 2013-02-27

15:15

H530

13 - Data analysis and HEP

O. Smirnova

Fri, 2013-03-01

15:15

H530

Student project presentations
Leave in home assignments 8-12

O. Smirnova

Mon, 2013-03-04

15:15

H530

14 - Heavy Ion physics and ALICE experiment at CERN

P. Christiansen

Wed, 2013-03-06

15:15

H530

Problems: 8-12

A. Hawkins

Thu, 2013-03-07

15:15

H530

15 – Experimental astroparticle physics - introduction

A. de Angelis

Fri, 2013-03-08

15:15

H530

16 - Experimental astroparticle physics - experiments

A. de Angelis

Mon, 2013-03-11

15:15

H322

Student project presentations

O. Smirnova

Wed, 2013-03-13

15:15

H530

Student project presentations

O. Smirnova

Fri, 2013-03-15

15:15

H530

Student project presentations

O. Smirnova

Fri, 2013-03-22

09:00

H322

Written examination

O. Smirnova