Schedule Spring 2018 / Preliminary

Modern Experimental Particle Physics FYST17

Date Location Topic Lecturer
Mon, Jan 15 K262 Introductory meeting E. Lytken
Wed, Jan 17 K262 The Standard Model I E. Lytken
Thu, Jan 18 K262 The Standard Model II E. Lytken
Mon, Jan 22 K262 Beam Dynamics I + Neutrinos I E. Laface, E. Lytken
Wed, Jan 24 L315 Neutrinos II + Detectors I E. Lytken
Thu, Jan 25 K262 Beam dynamics II E. Laface
Mon, Jan 29 K262 Beam Dynamics III + Detectors II E. Laface, E. Lytken
Wed, Jan 31 L315 LHC Physics I E. Lytken
Thu, Feb 1 K262 Beam Dynamics IV E. Laface, E. Lytken
Mon, Feb 5 K262 LHC Physics II E. Lytken
Wed, Feb 7 L315 MC and simulation E. Lytken
Thu, Feb 8 K262 PP exercises back E. Lytken
Mon, Feb 12 K262 Heavy Ion Physics I P. Christiansen
Wed, Feb 14 L315 Statistics: fitting and hypothesis testing E. Lytken
Thu, Feb 15 H322 Heavy Ion Physics II P. Christiansen
Mon, Feb 19 K262 Statistical methods in particle physics E. Lytken
Wed, Feb 21 K262 The Higgs discovery E. Lytken
Thu, Feb 22 H322 Dark Matter R. Poettgen
Mon, Feb 26 K262 backup E. Lytken
Wed, Feb 28 K262 BSM and the Cosmic Connection E. Lytken
Thu, March 1 K262 Student work C. Doglioni, E. Lytken
Mon, Mar 5 K262 @ 14:00 Student presentations C. Doglioni, E. Lytken
Wed, Mar 7 H321? Computing exercise C. Doglioni
Thu, Mar 8 ESS site ? ESS visit and course evaluation? E. Lytken, E. Laface
Final exam 12/3 kl 10:00 - 14/3 kl 10:00